Skip to main content

Brief History

Uganda became a British Protectorate in 1894 and was formed by bringing together a number of kingdoms, notably Buganda, Bunyoro, Toro, Busoga, Ankore and several chieftaincies. Uganda became independent from British colonial rule on 9th October 1962.

Since independence, Uganda has gone through various political changes. The immediate post-independence government was led by Sir Edward Mutesa II as the first (non- executive) President (1962- 1966), followed by Apollo Milton Obote (1966- 1971), Idi Amin Dada (1971- 1979), Yusuf Kironde Lule (1979), Godfrey Lukongwa Binaisa (1979- 1980), Paul Muwanga (1980), Apollo Milton Obote (1981- 1985), Tito Okello Lutwa (1985- 1986) and Yoweri Kaguta Museveni (1986 to date).

Under the Leadership of His Excellency Yoweri Kaguta Museveni, the National Resistance Movement (NRM) government has revitalized the country, providing political stability, a growing economy, macroeconomic stability and an improved infrastructure.